On the recommendation of the committee established to audit the procurement of arms and equipment in the Armed Forces and Defence sector from 2007 to 2015, President Muhammadu Buhari has directed the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) to carry out further investigation into the misconduct established against some past and serving top Airforce and Army officers.

The affected officers who are seventeen in number were found culpable in using their private companies to purchase arms and equipment between 2007 and 2015 during the PDP administration.

Read: 2023 Nigeria Elections: I Will Make Who Deserves To Work My Commissioner-Charles Soludo

The Committee earlier set up by the President, investigated them and made recommendations for appropriate sanction, but in a statement by the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity Garba Shehu on Friday, the following retired and serving officers were asked to be further investigated by the EFCC. They are:

  1. Air Chief Marshal AS Badeh (Rtd)
  2. Air Marshal MD Umar (Rtd)
  3. Air Marshal AN Amosu (Rtd)
  4. Maj-Gen. ER Chioba (Rtd)
  5. AVM IA Balogun (Rtd)
  6. AVM AG Tsakr (Rtd)
  7. AVM AG Idowu (Rtd)
  8. AVM AM Mamu
  9. AVM OT Oguntoyinbo
  10. AVM T Omenyi
  11. AVM JB Adigun
  12. AVM RA Ojuawo
  13. AVM JA Kayode-Beckley
  14. Air Cdre SA Yushau (Rtd)
  15. Air Cdre AO Ogunjobi
  16. Air Cdre GMD Gwani
  17. Air Cdre SO Makinde
  18. Air Cdre AY Lassa
  19. Col N Ashinze
  20. Lt Col. MS Dasuki (Rtd)

“Following the submission of the audit committee’s second interim report, President Buhari has directed the EFCC to investigate the roles of the officers and the following companies and their directors in fundamental breaches associated with the procurements by the Office of the National Security Adviser (ONSA) and the Nigerian Air Force (NAF).”

  1. Messrs Societe D’ Equipments Internationaux
  2. Himma Aboubakar
  3. Aeronautical Engineering and Technical Services Limited
  4. Messrs Syrius Technologies
  5. Dr. Theresa A. Ittu
  6. Sky Experts Nig Ltd
  7. Omenyi Ifeanyi Tony
  8. Huzee Nig Ltd
  9. GAT Techno Dynamics Ltd
  10.  Gbujie Peter Obie
  11.  Onuri Samuel Ugochukwu
  12. Spacewebs Interservice Ltd
  13. Oguntoyinbo Tayo
  14.  Oguntoyinbo Funmi
  15.  Delfina Oil and Gas Ltd
  16. Chief Jacobs Bola
  17. Mono Marine Corporation Nig Ltd
  18. Geonel Intergrated Services Ltd
  19. Sachi Felicia
  20.  Mudaki Polycarp
  21. Wolfgang Reinl.

“The breaches identified by the Audit Committee include non-specification of procurement costs, absence of contract agreements, award of contracts beyond authorized thresholds, transfer of public funds for unidentified purposes, and general non-adherence to provisions of the Public Procurement Act.
“Furthermore, the procurement processes were arbitrarily carried out and generally characterized by irregularities and fraud.

For me, my passion for writing is endless so don't try to interfere with it. You can find more about me on my socials as provided in the links.

Comments are closed.